Thursday, August 5, 2010

38 young MPs write to the youth of Kashmir

Thirty-eight young members of Parliament have written to the youth of Jammu and Kashmir expressing empathy, pleading for restraint and endorsing the need for dialogue.

Cutting across party lines, the MPs, including Priya Dutt, Dipendra Huda and Sandeep Dixit of the Congress, Akhilesh Yadav and Neeraj Shekhar of the Samajwadi Party and Supriya Sule of the NCP, have issued a signed statement that says:

"We deeply mourn the loss of innumerable young life. What has happened in the recent past has been very unfortunate and we are deeply concerned. We as representatives of people ourselves believe that together with positive frame of mind we can seek resolution only through open communication. History teaches us that any resolution can only be brought about through dialogue and not through violence. In this century when the whole world is looking towards India and we ourselves look to join the club of developed nations we believe this dream can only be achieved if all parts of our nation equally reap the fruits of our developments and when all of us are stake holders in this dream. Future belongs to our generation. We, the young parliamentarians, belonging to your generation sincerely hope for a bright shared future for you and for all of us together. We urge our young brothers and sisters in J&K to exercise restraint and have trust in power of dialogue."

Read more at:


Post a Comment

Search Your Questions Results Trends Video Pictures Jobs